Professional Experience [PE]: Week 1

“Choose a job you love and you will never have to work a day in your life.” (Confucius)

ICT challenge of the week: Printers! The classroom printer decided to ‘go on strike’ so I offered to check it out. I put my thinking cap on and went to investigate. Power on and connected, paper trays, ink levels, no flashing lights, cables and connections? All good, okay. I tried the old ‘turn it off and on’ again trick… Still nothing. Hmmm, alrighty then! What about the laptop? I checked the cables, explored the settings in the Printer properties and I could not find anything obvious. I felt as though I had tried everything that would work for me at home. My mentor has ‘logged a request’ for ‘the IT guy’ to investigate this tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

Lesson plans and resources… I have not had many opportunities to use ICT in my lessons yet; however, I have mastered my use of the interactive whiteboard. The kids absolutely love this digital technology, especially for watching animated stories and videos for literacy, numeracy and Cosmic Kids Yoga!

I have been creating my own worksheets for my Prep students on my computer at home and our lovely teacher aide has been photocopying these in preparation for each lesson. I’m so grateful for the extra pair of hands in our Prep classroom. I hope everyone is having a great week!

Choose-a-job-you-love__quotes-by-Confucius-33

Confucius quote [Image] Retrieved May 18, 2016, from http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-Erh_4B3nC0A/VMU6fvZxovI/AAAAAAAACq0/alyD9sipeYk/s1600/Choose-a-job-you-love__quotes-by-Confucius-33.png

Leave a Reply

