The biggest challenges on PE (Prac)

The biggest challenges on PE: then and now

  1. The top 2 challenges/problems/mistakes you have faced or made on prior Professional Experiences (Prac).
  • Forgetting names (teacher aides in particular)…
  • Unintentionally allowing a student to take over a Yr 5 Maths lesson (my mentor forgot to warn me about that student’s tendencies to take over the whole class). Lovely child, please don’t get me wrong!
  1. The top 2 fears/challenges you have about your EDC3100 Professional Experience.
  • Teaching a Prep class (very different from previous experiences).
  • Teaching a Prep class and incorporating ICT into my lessons (my mentor is a little apprehensive as well). The Prep students have had minimal use of the iPads and they have never had access to computers at school; however, during our telephone discussion, my mentor assured me that “we will make it work”. (What a relief!)

I am getting excited and nervous about Prac. My mentor and I have arranged to meet next week.

I loved reading Kerry-Lee’s post and this closing line in particular;

“So, am I excited YES VERY!!! Am I nervous ABSOLUTELY!!! Can I do this I WILL LET YOU KNOW IN A FEW WEEKS!!!” in ‘Meet the Mentor da da daaaaaaa’.

It’s such a relief to know that I’m not the only one feeling this way about Professional Experience… “I think I can – I think I can – I think I can” (Piper. W, 2011). It’s just round the corner now!

I would love to take the opportunity to wish a wonderful friend and ‘mentor in life’ all the best as she approaches the final ‘mountain’ of her Bachelor in Education. Good luck with your internship Trish! I admire your courage and I thank you for your support and encouragement as I too pursue this journey. I’m right behind you love!

The little engine

 

Piper, W. (1990). The Little Engine That Could. New York, NY: Grosset & Dunlap.

[Image] The Little Engine That Could. Retrieved May 5, 2016 from http://cathymadden.net/news-and-musings/the-little-engine-that-could

Leave a Reply

